Museke Online Africa Music Awards (MOAMAs) Winners 2010

Lizha James, Dama do Bling, Amr Diab, Ralph Anselmo and Perola emerged multiple winners of the inaugural Museke Online Africa Music Awards (MOAMAs). The MOAMAs sought to award best of African music over the last year and put the winners in the spotlight as Africa prepares to host the globe at the World Cup in South Africa. The awards were organized by, an African music site which seeks to unify Africa through its music and its partners. The winners would be awarded packages where their music will be promoted through various media while their online presence will also be enhanced.

The winners were selected based on African music fan votes. Voting took place from April 6 to May 29, 2010 on ( Users were allowed to vote once everyday. The nominees were selected over a 3 month period by an academy made up of African music enthusiasts and fans. The organizing team encourages music fans to learn about all the other nominees, since they are amongst the top African musicians of today. The nominees list can be found on (

Below is the full list of winners (arranged by song/album, name & country)

African song of the year: Yori yori – Bracket – Nigeria

Artiste of the Year: Lizha James – Mozambique

Best Male Artist: Ralph Anselmo – Angola

Best Female Artist: Dama do Bling – Mozambique

Best Group (tie): P-Square – Nigeria & Sauti Sol – Kenya

Best Album: O Cupido – Ralph Anselmo – Angola

Best African Collaboration: Put it down – Sasha P/Dama do Bling – Nigeria/Mozambique

Best New Artist/Group: Sarkodie – Ghana

Best Music Video: Estilo Xaxhale – Lizha James – Mozambique

Best Video producer: DJ Marcell – Mozambique

Best Beat maker: Bue d beats – Angola

Record of the year: Usinibore – Just A Band – Kenya

West Africa song of the year: Simple – Bradez – Ghana

North Africa song of the year: Wayah – Amr Diab – Egypt

Central Africa song of the year: C’est pas complique – Awilo Longomba – DR Congo

East Africa song of the year: Leo – A-Y – Tanzania

Southern Africa song of the year: Presta Atencao – Perola – Angola

Best Artist based in Diaspora: Suzanna Lubrano – Cape Verde

Best Reggae song: Africans – Nneka – Nigeria

Best Hip-hop song: Casamento – Dama do Bling – Mozamabique

Best R&B/Soul song: Presta Atencao – Perola – Angola

Best Gospel/Religious song: Igwe – Midnight Crew – Nigeria

Best Pop song: Wayah – Amr Diab – Egypt

Best Afro-pop song: Gologolo – Echo – Ghana

Best Dancehall song: Where my baby dey – Samini – Ghana

Best Alternative/Fusion/Rock song: Tukuraka remix – Stewart Sukuma – Mozambique

Best Dance song: Omo 2 Sexy – Justine – Nigeria

Best Contemporary African song: Kuma kwa kie – Yuri da Cunha – Angola

Congrats to all the winners!

Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...