The Future Awards Releases Shortlist After Voting!

After more than 6 weeks of voting as well as the first stage of judging, the Central Working Committee for The Future Awards 2010, known as Nigeria’s biggest youth event, has released its shortlist.

The Nominees List, which was released in December 2009, had 8 nominees per category, but, as usual, the shortlist has the 5 per category, who have made it to the next stage – and are closer to winning the coveted awards. “As always, the shortlist comes after we have collated the results of the online and sms voting, as managed by Vas2nets, and combine that with the results of the first stage of judging,” said Emilia Asim-Ita, the event’s PR Director. “This was done by the Board of Judges, made up 30 young journalists from across media houses like The Guardian, Thisday, The Punch, NEXT, TELL and others. After the release of this shortlist now, it moves on to the Independent Audit Committee, which will decide on the finalists. However, there is no shortlist for the Young Person of the Year category -all of the nominees for the biggest award are finalists.”

The three finalists for each award will be unveiled alongside the winners of the awards at the grand event which holds on Sunday, February 7, 2010. The strictly by invitation event has as Keynote Speaker, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, who is Managing Director of the World Bank.

More information on the process and the awards is on the site.

Shortlist for The Future Awards 2010
Actor of the Year
Omoni Oboli
Gideon Okeke
Mercy Johnson
Kemi Lala Akindoju
Ali Nuhu

Best Use of Advocacy
Ndubude Matthew Ekene (Nigeria Youth Fight Against Malaria)
Emmanuel Odiase (Smokefree Foundation)
Tosin Sangosanya (Dustbin Children Foundation)
Isoke Aikpitanyi (Casa de Isoke)
Light Up Nigeria

Best Use of Science
Akintunde Babatunde (Invention in wastewater treatment)
Ify Aniebo (Research in malaria)
Otejiri Oghoghorie (0.1 Seconds Automatic Changeover)
Tosin Ogunrinde (Invention in robotics)
Okelola Mayokun (Research in climate change)

Best Use of Technology
Bode Pedro (Veda Technology)
Ike Orizu (
Temi Kolawole (Antigravity)
Uche Eze (
Bade Adesemowo (Bincom)

Business Owner of the Year
Oghenekaro Agono (Tremor Perfect)
Erefa Fynecontry (Doheney Services)
Debola Lewis (Yvent Couture)
Hassan Rilwan (Focal Point Publishing)
Henry Orajiaka (Motomedia)

Creative Artist of the Year
Onyeka Nwelue
Andrew Esiebo
Jumoke Verissimo
Adekunle Samuel Owolabi
Richardson Oviebo

Excellence in Public Service
Jerry Uchechukwu Eze (UNFPA)
Dr. Abraham Idokoko (General Hospital, Lagos)
Fatima Zara Modibbo (Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria)
Ngozi Iheukwumere (University Teaching Hospital, Ilorin)
Oluwatoyin Jegede (Engineering Department, University of Lagos)

Journalist of the Year
Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)
Ruona Agbroko (NEXT)
Chinedu Iroche (NEXT)
Segun Adeoye (TELL)
Funke Adetutu (BusinessDay)

Magazine of the Year
Soundcity Blast
The Applause

Model of the Year
Ibukun Jegede
Olubunmi Ademokoya
Tayo Ishola
Warebi Martha
Owobowale Ogunlaja

Musician of the Year
Dare Art-Alade
Wande Coal
Banky W

Music Producer of the Year
Jesse Jagz
K Solo
Terry G

On-Air Personality of the Year (Radio)
Tosyn Bucknor (Top Radio)
Matse Uwatse (Wazobia FM)
Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi (Beat FM)
Gbemileke Oyinsan (Inspiration FM)
Spaceman (Cool FM)

On-Air Personality of the Year (TV)
Adaure Achumba (Silverbird TV)
Denrele Edun (Soundcity)
Gloria Ebong (Channels TV)
Cynthia Okpala (MTV Base)
Andre Blaze (Nigezie)

Professional of the Year
Dr. Adedayo Osholowu (IOC-certified doctor)
Simi Dosekun (Kachifo Limited)
Dipo Okuribido (Banwo & Ighodalo)
Aneto Okonkwo (Management Consultant)
Ifunnaya Maduka (Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls)

Screen Producer of the Year
Tola Odunsi (Storm Productions)
Imoh Umoren (Ultima Studios)
Yinka Obebe (Nigezie)
Gbenga Salu (Renders & Illusion)
Kenneth Gyang (“Finding Aisha”)

Sportsperson of the Year
Osaze Odemwingie (Football)
Ikechukwu Uche (Football)
Fatima Abinu (Lawn Tennis)
Obafemi Martins (Football)
Janet Dung (Athletics)

Style Entrepreneur of the Year
Muyiwa Osindero (Clothesense)
Uche Nnaji (Ouch!)
Linda Ikeji (Blackdove Communications)
Ugonna Umeruo (House of Nwaocha)
Adetola Olateju (Xquizit)

Team of the Year
African Youths Unite for Change
Light Up Nigeria
Salsa Naija
The Umusu Wives (for Dagashi Hair Company)
Gbagyichild Entertainment

Young Person of the Year
Ik Osakioduwa (On Air Personality)
Toyosi Akerele (Youth Advocate)
Tolu Ogunlesi (Journalist)
Asa (Bukola Elemide) (Singer/Performer)
Ify Aniebo (Science researcher)
Qudus Onikeku (Dance professional)
Stephanie Okereke (Actor/Movie Producer)
Cobhams Asuquo (Music Producer)

* All nominees are Nigerian citizens aged 18-31.

Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...

1 Comment

  1. The Future Awards Releases Shortlist After Voting!

Comments are closed.