“The Future Awards . . .” 2008!

We are honored and delighted to affiliate our brand as media sponsor for a very important award show, The Future . ..” Awards Nigeria 2008! We begin pre-coverage of the event with short interviews/profiles of some of the nominees by next week and into 2008!

Organized by the Redstrat Public Relations Firm, the event which will be held on January 13th, 2008 in Lagos, Nigeria promises to be exciting, inspiring and fun! ” The Future . . .” is a celebration of youth and achievement – it honors young Nigerian achievers between the ages of 18 and 31 with awards in 15 categories.

“The aim of “The Future…” is [t]o inspire young Nigerians by showing them others as young as themselves who have managed to conquer the ‘difficult’ Nigerian environment. ” says the organizers. It is [also] to show Nigerians proof [through the nominees, who are presented as role models] that there is concrete hope, for the nation in its young people.”

‘The nominees for 2008 have been selected! Below are some pictures from the recent “Nominees Party” held in honor of 120 outstanding talented young Nigerians who made the cut. Check them out and also be sure to check out the list of nominees.

Ty Bello, Photographer/Makeup Artist/Artist nominated in the Artist & Young Person of the Year Categories.

Nominee accepting his certificate of award

D’Banj checking out his certificate, nominated in Artist & Musician of the Year Categories
Denrele Edun nominated in the On-Air Personality of the Year category


Professional of the Year: Ike Ochonogor – FedEx; Temitope Ogunfayo – Procter & Gamble; Adebayo Omole – Matrix Solicitors; Boye Olawoye – Investment Banking; GroupLola Talabi – Cadbury Nigeria; Bode Makanjuola – Caverton Group; Omowale David Ashiru – Accenture; Noble Igwe – Virgin Nigeria.

Artist of the Year: Karo Akpokiere; Jide Alakija; TY Bello; Ogunnubi Babadeji; Chukwuma Ngene; Seyi Taylor; Adolphus Opara; Abraham Oghobase.
Music Producer of the Year: Alex Yangs; Don Jazzy; Mosa; ID Cabassa; Jeremiah Gyang; Wole Oni; Jokaynie; Mr. Daz.
Screen Programme Producer of the Year: Mak Kusare – AveHill;Michael Oyeyiola – Soundcity; Lamide Opere – Nigezie; Seke Somolu – Wetin Dey; Effiong Eton – Silverbird; Soji Ogunnaike – Real Time; Joke Jaiyesimi – Hip TV; Nasir Muazu – BBC.
Musician of the Year: Obiwon; Olu Maintain; Konga; Ashionye; Psquare; Dbanj;
De Indispensables; Faze.
Best Use of Technology: Adejuwon Saheed; Femi Odewunmi; Ayorinde Olalekan; Mubarak Mohammed Abdulahi; Icebox Studios; Olufemi Akande; Odufuye Bamidele; Seun Medunoye.
Best Use of Advocacy: Emmanuel Etim; Toyosi Akerele; Temidayo Israel; Olatorera Majekodunmi; Adeola Akinremi; UNITeS; Oyebisi O. Babatunde; Amina Alli.
Entrepreneur of the Year: Abiodun Ajibola – CGMIE Consulting; Tosin Dekalu – Lady Cobbler; Funke Awobokun – Cocktails In & Out; Funke Bucknor – Zaphaire Events; Gbenga Ashiru – Nebula Media; Bukola Adubi – Miccom Resorts; Chika Nwobi – Mtech; Mosunmola Umoru – Honeysuckles PTL.
On-Air Personality of the Year: Adaure Achumba; Keke Adenuga; Nike Coker; Lamide Akintobi; Denrele Edun; Mike Magic; Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi; Ebuka Obi-Uchendu.
Journalist of the Year: George Elijah Otumu – The Week; Ayeni Adekunle – Thisday; Azuh Amatus – The Sun; Abdulkareem Baba-Aminu – Daily Trust; Adedeji Ademigbuji – National Standard; Nonye Iwuagwu – The Punch; Samson Adeoye – The Guardian; Julie Odia – Simply Woman.
Best Use of Goodwill: TELD; Generation 4 Change; Do Sumthing Positive; Utopia; AIPA- Against Illiteracy Poverty and AIDS; Shade Ladipo; Omowunmi Agagu; Ngozi Ekeh
Entrepreneur of the Year (Beauty & Style): Omoyemi Akerele;Toni Payne; Okunoren Twins; Muyiwa Osindero; Banke Meshida; Linda Ikeji; Lisa Folawiyo; Bunmi Oyeniyi.

Actor of the Year: Genevieve Nnaji; Ini Edo; Funke Akindele; Ali Nuhu; Osita Iheme; Mike Ezuruonye; Oge Okoye; Nonso Diobi.

Magazine of the Year: RISE; Juice; Bubbles; Applause; Dynamix; Acada; Tripz; Blast.
Young Person of the Year: Mikel Obi; TY Bello; Oluchi Orlandi; D’banj; Chika Nwobi; Toni Payne; Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie; Mubara Muhammed Abdulai.

Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...


  1. deji ogunnubi says:

    hi everyone! the awards is heating up. Good luck to the final finalist, I just missed out of the final 3 in the artist of the year category. Dele, I am happy for u my friend.

  2. Saheed AdeJuwon says:

    I believe the future is now, cos it wat we do with today (now) that makes 2mor. (So spend now wisely)I believe it future is us, cos it wat we meet out of our self that make that future (so make something outta U)Congratulations to all the Nominee’s ,

  3. Anonymous says:

    On air personality of the year? Derele Edun of course! and over and over again! that boy is the most entertaining thing on t.v! Please, my dearest ladybrille, who are the other contenders in that category? never heard of them.

  4. SET says:


  5. Boom-Boom says:

    Go Toni-Payne! Hope you win both nominations!

Comments are closed.