MTV Africa Awards Line Up Heat Up: Sarkodie, Sasha, The Parlotones, Diamond to Perform

MTV & Airtel Confirm Performances by Sasha, Barbara Kanam, Sarkodie, Radio & Weasel, Paul G, The Parlotones, J. Martins & Diamond

(Lagos/Johannesburg, 29 November 2010): MTV and Airtel have revealed more fantastic performers for the red hot MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel (MAMA).  Joining the stellar line-up of performers at MAMA 2010 on 11 December 2010 will be Sasha (Nigeria), Barbara Kanam (DRC), Sarkodie (Ghana), Radio & Weasel (Uganda), Paul G (Angola), The Parlotones (South Africa), J.Martins (Nigeria) and Diamond (Tanzania).

Nigerian hip hop queen Sasha and Congolese singer-songwriter Barbara Kanam (DRC) are both hot contenders in this year’s “Best Female” award category, while Sarkodie – representing Ghana in the “Best Anglophone” category – is hoping to emulate fellow countryman Samini’s 2009 win for “Best Live” performance.  Ugandan dancehall chart-toppers Radio & Weasel are challenging P-Square (Nigeria), P-Unit (Kenya) and Teargas (South Africa) for the “Best Group” crown.  Angolan rapper Paul G is competing in the “Best Anglophone” category while South African indie rock heroes The Parlotones and Nigeria’s composer-producer-performer J.Martins are both doing battle for “Best Video”Diamond, the celebrated R’n’B artist from Tanzania is pitched against Muthoni (Kenya), JoJo (Gabon) and Mo Cheddah (Nigeria) for the MAMA “Brand:New” award.

Among the many guest presenters gracing the podium at the Eko Expo Hall on 11 December will be Nigerian comedian Julius Agwu and South African ‘It Girl’ and socialite Khani Mbau.

Sarkodie (Ghana), Sasha (Nigeria), Diamond (Tanzania), Paul G (Angola), Barbara Kanam (DRC), Radio & Weasel (Uganda), The Parlotones (South Africa) and J.Martins (Nigeria) join previously announced performers Rick Ross (USA), P-Unit (Kenya), Jozi (South Africa), Wande Coal (Nigeria), DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast), 2FACE (Nigeria), Daddy Owen (Kenya), Banky W (Nigeria), Fally Ipupa (DRC), Teargas (South Africa) and Cabo Snoop (Angola).

For more news about the MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel, visit or, or follow MTV base Africa on Twitter and Facebook.

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2010 is sponsored by Airtel in association with MasterCard.  Other partners supporting the MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel include Arik Air and the Lagos State Government.

The nominees for the MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel are:

Best Video

Fally Ipupa – Sexy dance (DRC)

P-Square f/t J. Martins- E No Easy (Nigeria)

The Parlotones – Life Design (South Africa)

Banky W – Strong Ting (Nigeria)

Mo Cheddah (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Muthoni (Kenya)
JoJo (Gabon)
Artist of The Year
2 Face (Nigeria)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Jozi (South Africa)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Song Of The Year
D’Banj – Fall In Love (Nigeria)
Liquideep – Fairytale (South Africa)
JR – Show Dem (South Africa)
Banky W – Lagos Party (Nigeria)
Best Anglophone
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Wande Coal (Nigeria)
Daddy Owen (Kenya)
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Best Francophone
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Awadi (Senegal)
DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
Ba Ponga (Gabon)
Best Lusophone
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Paul G (Angola)
Cabo Snoop (Angola)
Dama Do Bling (Mozambique)
Best Group
P-Square (Nigeria)
Radio & Weasel (Uganda)
Teargas (South Africa)
P-Unit (Kenya)
Best Female
Sasha (Nigeria)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nneka (Nigeria)
Barbara Kanam (DRC)
Best Male
2 Face (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Wande Coal (Nigeria)
Best International
Rihanna (USA)

Drake (USA)

Eminem (USA)

Rick Ross (USA)


Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...