Events, Music

Ladybrille Music: *Sigh* BET Nominates Ice Prince & TuFace, AGAIN, for Best International Act, Africa

BET recently released its 2013 nominees list for its upcoming annual BET Awards event. For the West African nation Nigeria, the network chose TuFace (who won in 2011) and Ice Prince (who was nominated in 2012 but did not win) as its nominees.

I think it would be nice to see BET: 1) reveal its criteria for how it nominates musicians in this category, and 2) work with a well curated group of African music bloggers to select artists from across the continent and also provide opportunities for artists In Nigeria, who are more than qualified, but are yet to have the opportunities Ice Prince and TuFace have had.

Granted in other non-African categories, it is not unusual to see the same musicians nominated year after year. But, BET has chosen to represent an entire continent and to showcase its diversity through its selections. Nevertheless,  it appears BET is comfortable with recycling the same artists, especially where the Nigerian music market is concerned. For example, did TuFace really need to be on this list, again? If so why? What is the exact criteria BET chose for Nigeria’s music market? Wasn’t this criteria applicable in the other African music markets which would mean we should see repeat nominees like D-Black & Sarkodie (Ghana) on this list, among other African artists from other African countries selected in prior years? You sort of gotta also wonder why P-Square is not part of the Nigerian category if BET chose to renominate TuFace and Ice Prince. Surely P-Square’s following and reach trumps Ice Prince’s. Not so?  I think this category continues to lose its credibility each year. Hopefully they at least create a spot on stage during the broadcasting of the live event  for a name like TuFace.

-Uduak Oduok

See the full list of nominees below, including Ghana’s R2Bees who was also nominated.

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Tamar Braxton
Alicia Keys
Elle Varner

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
Chris Brown
Bruno Mars
Justin Timberlake

Best Group
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Mary Mary
Mindless Behavior
The Throne (Kanye West & Jay-Z)

Best Collaboration
2 Chainz f/ Drake – No Lie
A$AP Rocky f/ Drake, 2 Chainz and Kendrick Lamar – “Problems”
French Montana f/ Rick Ross, Drake and Lil Wayne – “Pop That”
Kendrick Lamar f/ Drake – “Poetic Justice”
Justin Timberlake f/ Jay-Z – “Suit & Tie”
Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – “Mercy”

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
2 Chainz
A$AP Rocky
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Azealia Banks
Nicki Minaj
Rye Rye

Video of the Year
2 Chainz f/ Drake – “No Lie”
A$AP Rocky f/ Drake, 2 Chainz and Kendrick Lamar – “Problems”
Drake – “Started From The Bottom”
Drake f/ Lil Wayne – “HYFR”
Kendrick Lamar f/ Drake – “Poetic Justice”
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis f/ Wanz – “Thrift Shop”
Miguel – “Adorn”
Rihanna – “Diamonds”
Justin Timberlake f/ Jay-Z – “Suit & Tie”
Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – “Mercy”

Video Director of the Year
A$AP Rocky & Sam Lecca
Benny Boom
Director X
Dre Films
Hype Williams

Best New Artist
Azealia Banks
Joey Bada$$
Kendrick Lamar
Trinidad Jame$
The Weeknd

Best Gospel Artist
Deitrick Haddon
Tamela Mann
Mary Mary
Marvin Sapp

Best Actress
Angela Bassett
Halle Berry
Taraji P. Henson
Gabrielle Union
Kerry Washington

Best Actor
Don Cheadle
Jamie Foxx
Samuel L. Jackson
Denzel Washington

YoungStars Award
Gabrielle Douglas
Jacob Latimore
Keke Palmer
Jaden Smith
Quvenzhané Wallis

Best Movie
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Django Unchained
Something from Nothing: The Art of Rap
Think Like A Man

Subway Sportswoman of the Year
Gabrielle Douglas
Brittney Griner
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year
Victor Cruz
Kevin Durant
Robert Griffin III
LeBron James
Ray Lewis

Coca-Cola Viewers Choice Award
A$AP Rocky f/ Drake, 2 Chainz and Kendrick Lamar – “Problems”
Drake – “Started From The Bottom”
Kendrick Lamar – “Swimming Pools (Drank)”
Miguel – “Adorn”
Rihanna – “Diamonds”
Justin Timberlake f/ Jay-Z – “Suit & Tie”

Centric Award
Tamar Braxton – “Love and War”
Fantasia – “Lose To Win”
Miguel – “Adorn”
Nas – “Daughters”
Charlie Wilson – “My Love Is All I Have”

Best International Act: Africa
2Face Idibia (Nigeria)
Toya Delazy (South Africa)
Donald (South Africa)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
R2Bees (Ghana)
Radio and Weasel (Uganda)

Best International Act: UK
Marsha Ambrosius
Rita Ora
Emeli Sandé

Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...