African Cinema: Finalists Announced; Afrinolly Short Film Competition, Commences Online Public Voting

After a rigorous exercise of screening and pruning by the panel of Judges, the organisers of the Afrinolly Short Film Competition are proud to announce a shortlist of ten (10) finalists each in the contest’s Short Film and Documentary categories.

With over 400 entries received from 16 countries (Rwanda, Kenya, Nigeria, UK, Namibia, Tanzania, Ghana, USA, South Africa, Zambia, Uganda, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Malaysia, Ukraine and Cameroon) over the 3 months submissions were open. Shorts exceeding the stated time-frame and other such entries that were not in compliance with the Competition rules were screened out.

An international jury comprising creative experts such as documentary filmmaker Femi Odugbemi (head of the jury), Tunde Kelani, Franklin Leonard, Komla Dumor, Steven Markovitz, Obi Emelonye, Mahen Bonetti, Tambay Obenson, Bongiwe Selane, Akin Omotosho and Nmachi Jidenma had the hard task of selecting 20 of the best shorts and documentaries out of the eligible entries.

The finalists – 10 each from the short film and documentary categories – were selected on the basis of the narrative’s imagination and originality, the plot’s ability to attract and retain the viewer’s attention, clarity of purpose and an overall professional impression. Other criteria for selection included having adept mastery of technical aspects i.e. sound quality, costume, acting, screenplay, editing, lighting and camera work.

These successful films are now online for the public to view and vote for their favourite. To vote for your favourite short film and documentary, log on to Voting commenced on Wednesday 8th January and ends on Sunday 19th January, 2014. Winners in the Afrinolly Short Film Competition will be announced online on Monday, 20th January, 2014.

A cash prize of $25,000 goes to the overall winners in both categories, while the first and second runners-up will receive $10,000 and $5,000 respectively. Winners will be awarded at an exclusive Afrinolly Awards event in Lagos on Saturday 22nd February, 2014.

The Afrinolly Short Film Competition is aimed at digitally showcasing African cinema talent and providing a platform to foster a new generation of African content and make same available online. It is supported by MTN, Cote Ouest Audiovisuel, IREP and Goethe Institut.


The Strangers – Ejim Fortune (Nigeria)
Everything Happens for a Reason – Florian Schott (Namibia)
10:10 – Gbenga Salu (Nigeria)
Blurred Lines – Benjamin Kent (Ghana)
Crimson – Your Cup Of Tea – Daniel Etim Effiong (Nigeria)
Busted – Frank Orji (South Africa)
Big Man – Julius Onah (USA)
In Iredu – Abiola Sobo (Nigeria)
Five – Akin Okunrinboye (USA)
Imodoye – Femi Omoluabi (Nigeria)

Umalume – Ndud Shandu (South Africa)

British Nigerian Me – Dayo Adeneye (UK)

BIJOU Death Of A Cinema Hall – Ashraf Nayan (South Africa)

The Quest – Howard Bland (Zambia)

Free Inside – Amit Makan (South Africa)

Yellow Fever – Ng’endo Mukii (Kenya)

Awele’s Diary – Ronke Ogunmakin (Uk)

Blind Aspiration – Dapo Osinaike (Nigeria)

Creative Minds – Victor Okoye (Ukraine)

Mount Ephrem – Martial arts pioneer in Ethiopia – Garmamie (Ca

Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...