EbonyLife TV Sisterhood Awards Now Open for Public Voting for Nigeria’s Unsung Heroines

Nominees for the 2017 Sisterhood Awards are nothing short of remarkable and there is still an opportunity to recognize the achievement of one more individual – The People’s Choice awardee. Nominees have been named for ten categories, including Entrepreneur of the Year, TV Personality of the Year, Philanthropist of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award. Winners will be chosen by a committee of twelve (12) industry experts, influencers, and an independent auditor. However, the public gets to choose its overall favorite from the complete list.

Voting for this category closes on November 1st. The 2017 Sisterhood Awards will take place on Tuesday, November 14th, at 6:30 pm, at Eko Hotels and Suites. Those wishing to attend are encouraged to register early at

The event will be hosted in special partnership with Women in Management, Business and Public Service (WimBiz), as part of their 16thannual conference. It acknowledges significant, but mostly unrecognized, accomplishments of women in Nigeria, in categories such as business, arts and entertainment.

Mo Abudu, founder, and CEO of EbonyLife TV, is excited about this year’s nominees. “It is thrilling to see women from diverse industries being recognized. I look forward to the winners being announced at the ceremony,” she said.

The criteria for identifying awardees was based strictly on a demonstration of excellence, commitment, innovation, integrity, national impact; and most importantly, women who displayed a substantive, yet largely unrecognized excellence in the area for which they were being considered.

The Selection Committee is responsible for selecting the winners of the following awards:

Fashion Designer of the Year
Ogugua Okonkwo (Style Temple)
Toluwaloju Olowofoyeku (Toju Foyeh)
Temi Aboderin (JP Kingdom, JP Kouture and Golden Curvy Model)

Philanthropist of the Year
Catherine Emeagwali (Mother Theresa Children’s Home)
Ebele Mbanugo (Run for a Cure Africa)
Omotade Alalade (Beibei Haven Foundation)

Made in Nigeria Product of the Year
Munira Shonibare (IO Furniture Limited) 
Toyin Odulate (Olori Cosmetics) 
Ifeoluwa Ariyo (Forthworth Farms)

Film and TV Director of the Year
Funke Akindele Bello (Jenifa)
Omoni Oboli (Okafor’s Law)
Tope Oshin (Ireti)

TV Personality of the Year
Titilayo Oyinsan (Wake Up Nigeria)
Ada Afoluwake Ogunkeye ‘Folu Storms’, (The New Africa)
Isabella Akinseye (The Movie Buff Show)  

Advocate of the Year
Wadi Ben-Hirki (Wadi Ben-Hirki Foundation)
Sephiny Smart (SmartSistas Foundation)
Aderiye Aderonke (TAP: Teenage Awareness Programme)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Bisi Adeleye-Fayemi (African Women’s Development Fund)
Sola David-Borha (Standard Bank Group)
Joke Silva (Lufodo Group)

Best Collaboration of the Year
Odunoluwa Longe, Funkola Odeleye and Bola Olonisakin (DIYlaw)
Afua Osei and Yasmin Belo-Osagie (She Leads Africa)
Akin and Toyin Olatunji-Daniel (Eventecture)

Entrepreneur of the Year
Bilikiss Adebiyi Abiola (Wecyclers)
Affiong Williams (ReelFruit)
Tosin Oshinowo (cmDesign Atelier – cmD+A)

Man of the Year
Samuel Adeyemi (Daystar Leadership Academy)
Alhaji Aliko Dangote (Dangote Foundation)
Toke Ibru (Guardian Woman)

More details about the Sisterhood Awards can be found at

Ladybrille Magazine

Founded in 2007, Ladybrille® Magazine is a California based pioneer digital publication demystifying the image of Africans in the west through contemporary African fashion and celebrating the brilliant woman in business and leadership, with an emphasis on the African woman in the diaspora. Our coverage includes stories on capital, access to markets, expertise, hiring and retention, sales, marketing, and promotions.

You may also like...